How to build a Self-hosted WordPress website


This blog post title is link bait.

Hopefully, you found this page because you want to start building a self-hosted wordpress website? If so, I’m not going to tell you how to do it, instead, I’m going to warn you (heavily) what you need to do incase whatever tutorial you’re follow doesn’t tell you the most important factor which will save your ass when you screw things up.

Yes, you will screw things up!

My advice, gained from a decade of building websites, is to install a plugin called ‘UpdraftPlus’. If you install this plugin (which is free), any screwup you make will be fixable. Any. Mistake.

Now you might not care about backups yet, if you haven’t made your website, but once you start, and make progress, you can very easily break things and lose everything.

So, by following this one small tip, you can save yourself a lot of headaches. You might be building a website for yourself, or for someone else, whatever you’re doing, go to the plugins section, search for and install the ‘UpdraftPlus’ plugin. Then follow its guide to set it up, and run a manual backup immediately.

Why must you do this? Well, if I haven’t bashed you over the head enough already to convince you that it’s important, then the best reason to do it, is because it gets you in to a pattern:

Backup : Backup : Backup.

  • You cannot build if you cannot backup.
  • You cannot be a developer if you cannot backup.
  • You cannot work with WordPress if you cannot backup.

Backing up is WordPress 101. Yet, no tutorial I’ve ever seen on-line will tell you to learn about backups on day 1.

This is wrong. You must learn how to back up and restore from errors from day one. You don’t even need the restoration knowledge, you just need to install and run Backups.

Backups sound boring – particularly if you’re a designer who wants to get creative and make some money. But what good is design, if you can’t restore when something goes wrong (and it will).

So, please, please, please learn to back up.

This post has been hastily written after I have had a backup nightmare. After more than a decade of building WordPress sites, I haven’t got good Backup skills. However, recently disovered the UpdraftPlus plugin and it saved my life.

I’ve been working on a big client website for months now, and quietly in the background has been the UpdraftPlus plugin running, banking copies of my site. Today, I screwed up all my WordPress CSS by switching themes – because a theme developer (someone much more knowledgeable than me) told me it would be ok to do so).

That professional wasn’t wrong, but they didn’t know my site setup well enough to advise. I followed their advise and lost all my formatting.

After an entire morning of trying to get things back, I suddenly remembered I had UpdraftPlus running. And eventually, after much reading of online guides on how to restore exactly (fearing that even restoring was going to screw more things up!) I managed to restored the database with a few clicks and get everything back.

*phew*

If I’ve been doing development for 10+years and can screw up – you definitely will.

Please learn to backup from day one. You have been warned.

Mark

No part of this post is an advert for UpdraftPlus. It’s just the one I had installed which saved my ass. I’ve also used WordPress Backup To Dropbox, but don’t find it as user friendly. What ever backup option you choose, learn how to use it!

Leave a Reply

