Problems, Frustrations & Issues with using iBook Author


Publishing with iBook Author by O'Reilly

😦

Apple, Apple, Apple. I give in. I will start again (third time lucky) on my iPad book, and this time heed to your unforgiving, rigid, rules (limitations).

In iBook Author you cannot:

  • Cut n Paste what you like where you like.
  • Insert pages, sections and chapters where you want.
  • Edit all areas and items
  • Sometimes… you can’t even remove the images you’ve inserted (placeholders)

Thanks for that. Consistent for the reader? Yes. Intuitive for the creator? My arse.

So today, I’m about to rebuild my book again. I’m giving up trying to fudge the build. Apple just won’t let me. I can only suspect that they have decided if you want to completely control the formatting, use a PDF. If you want to create an actual book, accept there are constraints.

Usually, constraints are navigated with intellect and fudging. No. Not this time.

Pages can only go inside sections or Chapters. If you want content outside of those, you have the choice of dedications, preface, foreward, copyright, etc.. bah. I’m bored.

On a positive note: this great book, Publishing with iBooks Author by O’Reilly is Free.

One thought on “Problems, Frustrations & Issues with using iBook Author

Leave a Reply

