dipping my fingers in eInk


I have me eReader… and now I need to blog about it. But I don’t want to talk about what it is, I want to talk about what it will be. 

The moment I switched it on, and saw the screen quality, was the moment I realised that all my printed books would slowly become obsolete. Remember the first time you converted, ripped or downloaded an Mp3? that feeling that everything from here on, is set to change – that’s the same feeling I had over this shiny brushed metal machine.

The reading surface is what I want to shout about. Not the technology from the brand, the screen, or ‘surface’ – which is probably a better name for it. It isn’t a screen, it doesn’t resemble anything I have ‘ever’ owned. Think about that. Or anything you have ever owned.

Consider your LCD watch, your laptop, your calculator, your microwave digital timer, your tv screen, your phone, your mp3 player and now consider that the screen on the eReader does not resemble any of those at all. This is new. New like the iPod touch. Its that new. Not ‘new’ as in recent, ‘new’ as in different, revolutionary and unprecedented.

Its a surface, not a screen. It isn’t backlit, it isn’t glossy, and this is the big one…. the brighter the day the better it works. You have to try one of these things to understand what I’m talking about. Every other electrical device you own, that has a screen of some sort, fails in sunlight. This thing excels. This is the very first digital electrical device I have ever owned that I want to take outside in the blinding summer (ok autumn) sunshine.

This surface (not this product) will replace books, it will make your book collection obsolete, publishers are right to be worried, paper now has a serious competitor and one day you will understand exactly why I am this certain.

mark

5 thoughts on “dipping my fingers in eInk”

  1. Hmmm. I might be the 1% that doesn’t convert but is still respectful of it.

    I collect vinyl- but mp3s are handy. I am old skool.

    The physical nature of reading a book- tangibility, underlining words in different coloured ink, important sections indicated with post it notes. I love the fussy/messy element.

    Not sure if ebooks are for me- but looks super kool!

  2. yeah printed books are still the number 1 format for me too…. however at least now there’s a decent convenient usable alternative for when lugging books about just isn’t practical.

  3. Oh Yea, I do believe it will re-place book’s BUT we will not see it in our lifetime.. Still, there’s nothing like the smell of a old book in your hand’s.. But, I can’t even imagine what your going through with the e-reader.. Good Luck!! til l8er

Leave a Reply

